Skip to main content

MedEd Connections Resource Guide: Deaf and Hard of Hearing (D/HH)

Expanded Core Curriculum

What Are Additional Skills My D/HH Child Needs to Learn?

In addition to Ohio’s Learning Standards (both regular and extended standards), there is a recommended, but not required, Expanded Core Curriculum (ECC) suggested for students who are deaf or hard of hearing (D/HH). States such as Iowa and West Virginia have developed guidance documents for use of the ECC and have requirements for implementation. Currently, Ohio does not have a specific guidance document related to the ECC or any requirement to implement this suggested curriculum. This special curriculum addresses skill sets that children who are D/HH often miss because they do not have full access to heard information, or incidental learning. This access to information through the senses shapes a child’s experiences and store of knowledge. Some of that incidental learning is missed, and therefore, may need to be explicitly taught. The ECC contains, what those if the sensory disabilities field feel are critical components that address the needs of the whole child for students who are D/HH. The ECC can be included as a learning goal in the child’s individualized education program (IEP) if that is determined appropriate by the team.

A teacher of the deaf (TOD) and other members of the school team work with educators and families to help include components of the ECC into daily instruction. Families play an important role in supporting these skills to ensure that they are transferred from school to home.

Expanded Core Curriculum (ECC): D/HH

The Expanded Core Curriculum (ECC) for learners who are deaf or hard of hearing (D/HH) addresses areas that are either not typically taught or require specific and direct instruction. The tool is designed for teachers and educational audiologists to assist with program development and to be a resource for IFSP (individualized family service plan) and IEP (individualized education program) team members. There are eight content areas addressing academic and social learning needs.

  1. Audiology: Skills needed include understanding hearing loss, amplification management, and environmental management.
  2. Career Education: Skills cover career exploration and planning, occupational skills training, soft skills training, job seeking skills, and money management.
  3. Communication: Skills include auditory skills development, ASL development, speech development, receptive communication, and expressive communication.
  4. Family Education: Skills of understanding hearing loss, amplification, family and child interactions, communication strategies, education/transition and resources, and technology are covered in this area.
  5. Functional Skills for Educational Success: Skills to develop are concept development, comprehension, and study and organization.
  6. Self-Determination and Advocacy: Skills covered are self-determination, communication advocacy, community resources and supports, cultural awareness, and using interpreters and transliterators.
  7. Social-Emotional Skills: Skills of self-awareness (personal qualities), self-management, support networks, personal responsibility, decision making, social awareness, social interaction including conversation skills, and conflict resolution are covered in this area.
  8. Technology: Skills include how to properly use, maintain, and troubleshoot various types of technology and where to obtain needed technology support.

Social-emotional support and other educational needs are factors that the education team should consider when discussing the whole child approach of learners. The ECC discussion can be addressed during the educational meetings with the team.

Would you like more information on the ECC?
Please see: Expanded Core Curriculum for Students Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing.